Milltown/Castlemaine 2-11

Mid Kerry Senior Football Championship Final

Laune Rangers 0-16


Report by Dara O'Connor


Referee: Paul Hayes (Kerins O'Rahillys)

Venue: Glenbeigh


For the first time in the Mid Kerry Championship history, all roads led to Glenbeigh this afternoon as local rivals Milltown/Castlemaine and Laune Rangers met for the first time in a decider since 2012.
The field and facilities were in immaculate condition and for the 1st of December you would be hard pressed to get a better location for today's game in the District. It was a hugely exciting game which produced 29 scores overall.


Laune Rangers laid down a marker from the start and took an early advantage when Fiachra Clifford who was the Rangers main marksmen Fiachra Clifford knocked over a free. Cathal Moriarty replied to leave matters tied at 0-1 to 0-1 after 5 minutes. Clifford (0-2) and the ever impressive Patrick Carey sent Laune Rangers into a hugely commanding 0-4 to 0-1 lead after 15 minutes.

The game turned hugely after the midway point of the opening half as Cathal Moriarty was both fouled firstly, then buried the resulting penalty after superb setup play involving Dylan O'Neill. Man of the Match Jonathan O'Sullivan and Donal Dennehy had Milltown/Castlemaine in the ascendancy at 1-3 to 0-4 by the 20th minute after a sharp scoring burst.

'Moriarty & O'Sullivan Pave The Way To Mid Kerry Title'

Mid Kerry Champ Final 2019.jpg

Fiachra Clifford pointed twice early in the second period (1 Free, 1 from play) to give Laune Rangers the lead at 2-6 to 0-13.
Jonathan O'Sullivan, Cathal Moriarty & Kieran O'Carroll off his left leg put Milltown/Castlemaine back in control.
Laune Rangers were shortly after reduced to 14 men when Shane McSweeney who has always been a great servant for the Killorglin club was given his marching orders by Paul Hayes. Jonathan O'Sullivan (Free) and a huge score from David Roche made it a two score game heading down the final straight as Milltown/Castlemaine led 2-11 to 0-13. To be fair to Laune Rangers they never gave in, fought to the bitter end as one would expect and brought it back to the minimum by the games finish as points from Patrick Carey, Jonathan Carey & Fiachra Clifford had matters at 2-11 to 0-16 deep into injury time.

David Roche made a big mark midfield however which would halt the Laune men's late surge and following a wide Paul Hayes blew a halt to proceedings.


Scorers: Cathal Moriarty (2-2), Jonathan O'Sullivan (0-4), Donal Dennehy (0-1), David Roche (0-1), Kieran O'Carroll (0-1), Pa Wren (0-1), Dylan O'Neill (0-1)


Well done to all our players and management on a brilliant win.

Only one between them in the first half

John Tyther for Laune Rangers landed a huge point to narrow the gap to the minimum but Jonathan O'Sullivan did a very good follow up act to keep Milltown/Castlemaine leading 1-4 to 0-5 after 25 minutes. Shane Doona had the deficit reduced to the bare minimum moving towards the end of the half but a superb Cathal Moriarty goal made the difference going into the short whistle when a rasper off his left leg bounced down off the crossbar and comfortably fell into the net to make it 2-4 to 0-5.
Laune Rangers, as expected never gave in and had matters back to a solitary score at 2-4 to 0-9 approaching injury time in the first half as Fiachra Clifford, Kieran Doona and Daragh O'Sullivan reduced the arrears.
Both sides exchanged scores late on in the half as Pa Wren through a fantasic long range effort, Fiachra Clifford (Free), Dylan O'Neill (M/C) and Jason Browne from a '45' for Laune Rangers seen Milltown/Castlemaine carry a slender 2-6 to 0-11 lead into the interval.

Milltown Castlemaine triumph in the Mid Kerry Championship